Stay Cool Dad


Morality by Simon Sharwood
January 31, 2006, 1:46 pm
Filed under: Dotmusic

At some point in my teenage years, I acquired a tape-to-tape tape recorder.

I proceeded to tape anything and everything and amassed a sizeable collection of illegal music.

I never used Napster or Kazaa in their free-for-all phases.

But I am finding it hard not to use allofmp3.com, a Russia-based MP3 download site. It’s cheaper than any other site by far. A whole album costs about $AUD2.00.

The site is apparently legal under Russian law and remits funds to the local copyright authorities. Whether they then make it to the artists is not fully understood.

It may or may not be illegal to import music from the site depending on who you talk to.

As someone who makes a living creating IP, I should probably use a more transparently legitimate service.

But as someone who believes in the Internet’s ability to iron out illogical kinks in global markets, I say “nyah nyah I get my music real cheap.”

What to tell the kids?

How about “come listen to this”?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

