Stay Cool Dad


Nostalgia is all I have to look forward to by Simon Sharwood
February 1, 2006, 9:15 am
Filed under: Mission statement

Split Enz are reforming for a series of shows.

I wouldn’t mind going.

Which raises the old problem of being stuck in the past. I mean the band broke up at least 15 years ago and reforming to play their old hits is surely a form of superannuation as much as any artistic statement.

Then I think of the songs. They were great. I’m happy to listen to them anytime.

The kids already like one of them: Six Months in a Leaky Boat, thanks to a cover by The Wiggles.

And that gets me thinking that perhaps some music really is transcendent of age. When it is, surely that is truly great art.

Still, the thought of being one of those parent and child couples caught grooving to the same music at a concert sickens me. Transcendence be dammed!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

