Stay Cool Dad


drive the bandwagon slowly while I hop on by Simon Sharwood
February 6, 2006, 10:01 pm
Filed under: Mission statement

Thinking about this mission statement …

Don’t get to hear much new music. No, no doubt about that. More on that in a moment.

Not so sure about not regarding what my kids listen to as noise, though. Looking back, there’s a big stretch between zero and, oh, 23 or so where I didn’t listen to much of consequence. My parents, for their part, didn’t have crates of Zeppelin or Hendrix or Dylan for me to discover. Their modest collection of classical LPs was comprehensively scratched to buggery by the toddler incarnation of me and my brother by the time we’d be even vaguely interested. (And I think the stylus remained broken by all that toddler action until the ole 3-in-1 was replaced when I was 15 or so).

So, we kept out of each other’s musical way and found other interests to share, and hopefully I’m not much the poorer.

A line that stayed with me from me from my pre-parenting days (it was in the teenage dope-addict runaway context that, gasp, I haven’t had to face yet, but it might apply here): they don’t need you to be their friend, they need you to tell them what’s right and wrong.

Still, if we genuinely stay cool, we can look forward to the following:

Dad: What ya listening to?
Spawn: The new thing by Krungk
Dad: Oh yeah. That. I was sort of into that last week.

Sounds like a wild pipe-dream …

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

