Stay Cool Dad


Singular obsession by Simon Sharwood
February 6, 2006, 3:56 pm
Filed under: Just listened to ...

When I was nine years old, I thought the greatest song in the world was …

… I’m going to have to admit this now ….

… blush …

…  this is SO embarassing  …

You’re the One That I Want by John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John!

I made a cassette of it that had the same song about ten times and listened to it a lot!

Okay. Stop laughing now.

Seriously! Stop! I was only nine!

Why mention this?  Well, I have a song in my head at the moment that I would happily listen to ten times a day.

It is Ask Me Anything by The Strokes.

However much I cringe at the fact this behaviour has been a part of my life for nearly 30 years, it is nice to know I can still be so enthusiastic about music.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Baby, I never knew this about you! I’m not sure if it’s grounds for divorce (I thought I married a hep cat) or grounds for making it ‘our song’ because when I was 9 I also thought that song was the greatest and sexiest song of all time.

Comment by elissa

I think you have to make it a retrospective “our song.” That would be ace.

Comment by JG




Leave a Reply

