Stay Cool Dad


Death in the tall weeds by Simon Sharwood
February 8, 2006, 7:56 pm
Filed under: I like this band because

Today I introduced a colleague to Cows, a now sadly defunct band from Minneapolis. He said he liked Flipper and so I said… hmmm, you really need to check out Cows.

So I burned him a copy of Sexy Pee Story.

It’s a bit hard to describe Cows. Punk? Psych? I think that the best comment I ever saw was along the lines of “I don’t dispute Cows can play their instruments. I just don’t know why they don’t tune them.” (If you said that, please let me know and I’ll credit you.)

So bein’ in a procrastinating, punk rock listenin’ mood I wondered to myself, “Josh,” I said, “Josh, what does that wikimepedia have to say about ye olde cows?”

So I asked Dr Google coz I was too lazy to type in all the dubya dubya dubya stuff, preferring to save my keystrokes for tellin’ all yz about it.

Wikipedia, of course, sent me to a disambiguation page, which told me jack shit since you had to type in The Cows instead of cows even though, as far as I can tell, The Cows were always called Cows (a bit like The Melvins are always called Melvins. And King Buzzo from Melvins produced Cows’ swansong, Sorry in Pig Minor.)

But that’s all kinda beside the point because the WIKI entry claimed that Cows records are hard to get. Well, I gotta tell ya I ordered Sorry In Pig Minor from AMA-fookin-ZON a couple of years ago (until my dear friend, The Robed Priest nicked it and claimed that I’d never lent it to him in the first place). So it can’t be that hard to get. And then I tried the iTunes Music Store and, weirdly enough, although they won’t sell you a Mission of Burma album, you can get most of COWS back catalog there.

(edit: I just discovered you can get a MoB album from iTMS. Last time I checked it was no go, so I am thinking that this has something to do with the Sony-BMG capitulation to the Jobs-godhead.)
If I was any less lazy I’d update the Wiki entry. But until then, let’s keep this to ourselves. And go buy Sorry in Pig Minor. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

