Stay Cool Dad


Hooray (?) for the $10 DVD by Simon Sharwood
March 11, 2006, 8:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

At the supermarket yesterday (stay with me here) I acquired a $9.98 DVD of the movie Oscar and Lucinda.

At that price it doesn’t make sense not to buy it (If you can tunnel into that little double-negative and come out the other side with your sanity intact).

I find this kind of purchase almost irresistible. $10 is so little for a quality movie you can own forever!

Which gets me thinking. We buy these things at a rate of about one a month. This means  the kids are going to grow up surrounded by a library of movies that reflect our leftie wanker art house film sensibility.

No previous generation has grown up with that kind of pointer to filmed entertainment lieing around the house. I got schlepped out to see things like Mr. Hulot’s Holiday or The Sound of Music as part of my parents’ culture-cramming efforts. My kids will have it all on tap … and that’s not even counting video on demand which will be here real soon now …

So their childhoods will be very different to ours in yet another way and I wonder what it all means for the lives.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yeah, but in my humble zealot opinion, they will grow up surrounded by the entire human art pantheon viewable on their wireless cyberspace decks [the caveat here is whether the IP Chicken Littles are crushed by the sky before or after our wains grow up]. So the fact that they’d have to get out of their chairs to watch your standard-def subsidised aussie art-house may well work *against* it.

Comment by Pdaddy

Being, so to speak, in the business, all I can do is reiterate the standard mantra that if we all start selling DVDs at that price (and I’m assuming the aussie $ is worth even less than the yankee $) then there won’t be many of us around for much longer to put out DVDs at any price, let alone the arty ones, subsidies or not.
On the other hand, I have been trying out some old classics on my ten-year-old son. Give him another couple of years and I’ll be scorching his impressionable brain with some early Jean-Luc Godard.

Comment by David




Leave a Reply

