Stay Cool Dad


A case for Greatest Hits albums? by Simon Sharwood
July 5, 2006, 12:48 am
Filed under: I like this band because, I'm so old ..., Just listened to ...

One of the reasons for writing this blog is to avoid becoming someone who relives his musical heyday through buying Ggreatest Hits albums by bands I liked when I was younger.

But the new Sonic Youth album has me thinking, because it is pretty ordinary. I first got interested in the band with their album Goo, and specifically the track “Tunic” which was and is like nothing I have ever heard.

“Rather Ripped,” the new album, has nothing to compare with it. And nothing startlingly good either.

And there’s the rub. If I ever decided to introduce my kids to this band, I’d prefer to do it with a Greatest Hits album than with some of their spotty efforts of recent years.

Maybe these things are useful after all …Rather Ripped

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have to say, because I’m

a) often fairly wide of the mark musically, and
b) cheap,

I have quite a number of such records in the collection: The Smiths, Paul Kelly, TMBG, Sam & Dave, the Violent Femmes, The Go-Betweens, Grace Jones (and that’s just halfway down the iTunes window) … I see value, I just gotta have it.

And it is sometimes illuminating – that band that had that hit; that I didn’t mind at the time; that I like more now: what were their other songs like?

Comment by pdaddy

Strangely, our snobbery (or not, as the case may be) may be a moot point by the time our kids are old enough to be serious music consumers. If the trend continues, and the main mode of acquiring music becomes storing it on one’s hard-drive, we’ll be the quaint old fools who sometimes lapse into memories of the old days and start spouting off some nonsense about greatest hits albums.

What the hell’s an album, dad?

Comment by freezio




Leave a Reply

