Stay Cool Dad


Shared rituals by Simon Sharwood
July 24, 2006, 1:34 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve just come back from a week in the USA, where I managed to sneak out to a baseball game in the midst of a week of training.

The game was fun, but one of the more interesting aspects was the cultural rituals associated with the game.
Of course I expected that between innings in the 7th the crowd would all sing “Take me out to the ball game.”

What I did not expect were things like the entire crowd pumping their fists and punctuating “Sweet Caroline” with hearty “Ba Ba Ba’s” at other times, or a host of other things during other songs. Kids, grannies, everyone knew them and did them.
It made me wonder why we don’t have that kind of shared, universal ritual in Australia and made me a little sad I don’t have that kind of thing to pass on to the kids.

Shouting “where’s your Labrador?” at the umpires during footy matches just isn’t quite the same and is rather more destructive and random …

On another note, my lovely wife bought me this book about The Go-Betweens for my recent birthday. I’m enjoying it a lot.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Come off it Soy – no rituals indeed. Yelling abuse from the hill at the cricket, that ridiculous song at the basketball and the everywhere Aussie Aussie Aussie Oi Oi Oi which pretty much covers EVERY sport!

Comment by Annie




Leave a Reply

