Stay Cool Dad


Keeping up with myself by Simon Sharwood
August 9, 2006, 6:02 am
Filed under: Mission statement

I’m reading Vernor Vinge’s new novel, Rainbow’s End right now.

It’s fascinating in the context of this blog because one of the characters is a seventy-something man who recovers from Alzheimer’s and is forced to relearn the new generation of technology he’ll need to get along in the world in which advanced medicine means he’ll spend rather more years living than he had originally planned.

It got me thinking about my own atrophy in some regards. The whole del.icio.us thing, for example, just leaves me cold. I can’t understand why I should bother. And why would I want an avatar?

And where on earth am I going to find the time to play Second Life or develop the virtual team skills that people are apparently learning in World of Warcraft and bringing to the workplace with impressive results?

How can I make sure that the tech my kids grow up with and make a part of their culture is not something that leaves me behind?

Throwing myself  into it all seems the answer. But quite how and when is another matter.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

