Stay Cool Dad


What will we sing together? by Simon Sharwood
August 29, 2006, 11:52 am
Filed under: I'm so old ..., Mission statement

My wife remembers just about every note of Jesus Christ Superstar. It’s a big part of her childhood.

It’s got me thinking because I wonder what music we’ll share with the kids.

Do I really want to sit with them while “Idol” contestants that our local newspaper recently (and insensitively) characterised as “Tongan barmaids” murder Mowtown over and over? I think not!

Do I think car journeys will be filled with Abba covers after they see “Mama Mia”?

Hell No! We Won’t Go!

So what will we share? I ain’t going to bring them up on the prevailing pap if I can help it (which I cannot, of course). But there does seem to be a dearth of stuff out there with enough zeitgeist to cross generations and set a family into song for years to come.

Or maybe I’m just too much of a fuddy duddy elitist wanker to know.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

