Stay Cool Dad


I may not survive by Simon Sharwood
February 13, 2007, 7:41 am
Filed under: Just listened to ...

In my never ending quest to find Cool Music The Kids of Today Like That I Might Like Too, in order to stay cool, I sought out The Gossip’s Standing in the Way of Control after reading about it in the weekend paper.

The band’s main schtick seems to be that the lead singer Beth Ditto is somewhat unusual

As Wikipedia puts it, Beth Ditto is ” … she is a lesbian, an outspoken advocate of gay rights, weighs around 95 kg (210 lbs. or 15 stone)[3], and is also in a relationship with a transgendered man. [4] [5]

She’s also been named the coolest person in rock by NME, which let us not forget also alerted the world to the virtual charms of Lara Croft too …

Anyway, the music is alright. It’s competently punky. But lyrically I am finding it harder and harder to deal with 25 year olds attempting to express their rough-edged emotions. Half way into the Album I found myself thinking that a quick listen to disco classic ‘I will survive’ would probably communicate all that The Gossip have to offer in a funner, funkier, friendlier package.

Which confirms the fact I’ll be a shocker when my kids bring home whatever the future equivalent of The Gossip becomes.

But perhaps understanding the paucity of emotional quality as the source of my dislike is at least a good start in not being a total prat.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I listened to The Gossip as well and I thought ‘the coolest person in rock’ sounded whiney and annoying and needs to grow up. I couldn’t believe she would still write that teenaged angst stuff aged over 20.

God help our children.

Comment by Elissa




Leave a comment