Stay Cool Dad


Stay Cool Dad – introducing kids to music by joshglid
April 24, 2012, 7:48 am
Filed under: Just listened to ...

It’s funny, when my friend Soy started this blog a while back, its mission was to be “A PLACE WHERE PARENTS CAN TALK ABOUT THE CULTURE THEIR KIDS CONSUME, IN THE HOPE THEY DON’T THINK WE ARE DINOSAURS!”

The thing is, my small people are going to have a hard time keeping up with me, musically. At the same time, I want them to form their own tastes (as long as they’re not crap), and I don’t want to push them straight into early Sonic Youth or something. 

When I was in year 8 I discovered my dad’s tapes of the first two Talking Heads albums. Those tapes opened my mind to what was possible, even tho, at that point, they were nearly ten years old. I wonder what sort of things I can leave around, strategically, to open my small people’s minds as they get older? 

Suggestions?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

