Stay Cool Dad


Matt Newton, bipolar and assaulting women by joshglid
April 24, 2012, 8:25 am
Filed under: Just listened to ...

So Matt’s back in the news. At least this time it wasn’t for hitting a woman. That’s totally unacceptable and, in my opinion, not necessarily something to be blamed on bipolar. 

I should know. I have bipolar. I also have OCD. Same things Matt does. The thing is – as my shrink says – no patient walks into a psychiatrist’s office off the pages of a textbook. So although Matt and I have the same thing, we may well have different experiences. 

The thing is, when my (now ex) wife told me she was leaving, I had no inclination to hit her. I wanted to hurt myself. I’d fucked up, and fucked up more, and I paid the price. And that’s what worries me about Matt. What’s with the violence? I’m not a psych, so I’m not going to attempt a diagnosis. 

What I do know is the worst thing for a BP is to mix alcohol, drugs and being away from your support networks. Matt shouldn’t be in the US. He needs to be in a secure care facility until he’s well enough to rejoin society. 

What I also know, as a BP, is that booze and stimulants sometimes give you relief from the hell that is your mind. Until they don’t, and everything spirals out of control. 

I really feel for Matt. I don’t condone the assaults, but he’s not being taken care of. And what he needs, more than anything, is care. 


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The latest review divulges the intel regarding gucci together with reasons why have got to take action today. Sac longchamp pliage grand http://www.rep-search.com/

Comment by Sac longchamp pliage grand

Thanks, Stan…it’s exciting to unearth these kinds of treasures as you know. Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Comment by zoladyer97322




Leave a comment